WanderLust

Yesterday my sis wore a Life is Good shirt with that phrase you’ve seen “all who wander are not lost”.  A week ago, my son posted a picture labeled, “wandering but not lost” while he was exploring Oregon.  These reminded me that my youngest older brother once told me that Americans tend to have wanderlust.  He was reading something that supposed it was because we all are descendants of wanderers.  Whether our roots are from jolly ol’ England, Mexico, or somewhere in Europe, our ancestors became restless or unsatisfied, and here we are in the USA.  Huh, I thought I just loved traveling, but maybe I have the dreaded “wanderlust”.  Every summer I look for a new house, but never move.  If I’m in Ohio for more than four weeks, I start looking for other places to visit.  Even if I don’t plan a getaway, I search out options.  It is, perhaps, an affliction.

671px-1806_Cary_Map_of_the_Western_Hemisphere_(_North_America_and_South_America_)_-_Geographicus_-_America-cary-1806

Of course, my mind then went down a different road, because, it, too, has wanderlust…or ADD…or maybe just extreme flights of thought (maybe it’s a caffeine overdose thing)  Anyhow, I broke down the word in my head…wander, lust.  And then I thought of my postmenopausal self.  Indeed, my lust has wandered.  It has not wandered from my husband, it has wandered off the earth.  When I speak to other women my age, they have similar experiences.  I must say, it’s pretty unpleasant.  It doesn’t seem to be an affliction that men get.  In fact, thank you Pfizer, men can pop a pill if they’re having problems.  Sometimes a woman can, too.  But not if she has any estrogen-driven issues, like, say ER+ breast cancer.  So, we must be satisfied with wanderlust since our lust has wandered.  Life is weird.

128595-7fedaef0-cd6e-11e2-8018-aff37e6e4f70

No big conclusions here.  I’m gonna go take my dog and wander through a park.  This is the best season in Ohio.  Autumn is typically cool and sunny, and today is delivering just that.  There is Vit D to soak up!  My thoughts will wander.  But, I’ll try to just look around and soak up the gorgeous day.  One problem with the wanderluster is that sometimes we miss what’s right outside our door.  So, be careful about that.  Go wander around nearby, THEN plan your next big adventure.

Intothetrees-250x190

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer, disease, go green, healthy outlook, illness, Metaphors, metastatic, nancy ferrato, survivor, weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WanderLust

  1. yelodoggie says:

    my lust has wandered off the planet too.

Leave a Reply

