Turtles and Geese

Today I am thankful for…

The unbelievable clear blue sky

The pristine snow that sparkles like crystal in the unobstructed sunshine

The scar under  my right shoulder that reminds me of a rough year that I survived

Image

My sloppy, graying hair that now falls past my shoulders

The other hair that I frequently see in my closet, perfectly coifed, but unneeded, for now

The abundance of jeans in my closet, covering three different sizes

All four of my children, because the world is a better place with them in it (even if I was selfish to have so many)

Image

My house…it is so much more than I ever expected to have

My husband, because he loves me and I love him.  That covers everything.

The fact that my husband and one daughter are now in Alaska, because it wasn’t that long ago that he wouldn’t leave me

The time I’ve been given to learn

The joy of smelling food, then eating it, without getting nauseated

The ability to take a really deep, relaxing breath

The knowledge that these little things aren’t little, they are EVERYTHING

That I realize we are all walking on a tightrope.  But, that, for now, I’ve figured out how to keep my balance.

That I got that call that brought me to my knees and was able to be lifted back up.

That I believe in God, because that’s where I find peace.  Even with Russia in the Ukraine.

Beaches, because when I see sand I’m reminded of how long things have been here before me, and will be after me

The ocean, because it reminds me that even things that are dark and cold can produce beautiful life.

Speaking of dark and cold…

Today, when I awoke, it was 5 degrees.  Later, it got up to ten degrees…

More than anything else, today I am thankful for turtlenecks and goose down coats and comforters.

Image

When the warm weather hits, I’ll research just what happened to those geese….but for now, I just wanna thank ’em!

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turtles and Geese

  1. Annmarie Keogh says:

    Beautiful honey. Just like you!
    Hugs!
    Your friend,
    Annmarie

  2. nancy5vic says:

    Thanks! Hope you’re keeping warm in your neck of the woods! 😘

Leave a Reply

