Another Child is born

It seemed like a good day to give it a try, South-of-the-Border Bread. Yum! With a hearty bowl of soup. Put the ingredients in the bread maker and set the timer for 2:50, that’s 2 hours and 50 minutes. It was 2pm. Perfect. Then, I left the house to exercise, pick up Maria, and run through good ol’ Target. Along the way, I switched the hearty bowl of soup…lentils with barley…to a tortilla soup. There is corn and green chiles in the bread, so tortilla soup is definitely the way to go. I’m dreaming of the bread while I’m on the elliptical. The ingredients smelled good on their own. Together, this was gonna be tasty!

Entered the house at 4:30 with 25 minutes left on the bread maker timer. Smelled really good in the house. Ready to start the soup now. First, I peeked into the bread maker. photo-1
Arrgghh. The bread didn’t rise at all!!!! OhshitIforgottheliquid!!! Reread the recipe. Yup, I didn’t put the water in. Dang it!
No worries, even Julia Child made a few mistakes. I think of her as I quickly add the cup of water. Surely the other ingredients don’t know that the water was suppose to go in first…2 hours and 25 minutes ago. We’ll just eat later. That happens. I set the timer for another 2 hours and 50 minutes. ERROR. Dang it! The bread maker knows…I guess it’s too hot or something. It won’t let me start over. No worries. I can knead bread.

photo-2
Well, ok, maybe this is just gonna be a mess. But, certainly nothing my Kitchenaide can’t handle. I’ll add more frozen corn. More green chiles. More olive oil. Ya, this is gonna be great. The Kitchenaide, indeed, mixed the mess. Carefully, well not really carefully at all, I lumped the dough into two loaf pans. I left them on the stove top to rise.
photo-5
Perfect now. The bread will rise while I put the soup together. Then, while the soup simmers, I’ll bake the bread. Man, I’ve saved this meal…and we’ll be eating by 7pm. I rock!
I put the soup together. Onions, garlic, cumin, tomatoes, broth, black beans, corn. Smells good! I check under the towel at the bread. It hasn’t budged. Apparently, the yeast is angry. Cooked. Well, there’s no turning back now. I plop the beauties in the oven. 30 minutes later…

photo-4
Looks pretty much like the “before” picture except now the edges are brown.
Still, I think of Julia Child. “One’s cooking is usually better than one thinks” So, what the heck. The soup looks pretty delicious. The kitchen smells great. The porch is ready for us to enjoy a dinner al fresco. The kale salad is dressed and waiting to be consumed.

photo-3

I think I just spent about two hours making corn bread with green chiles. Ah well! The dinner was saved. The bread was edible, but not delicious. And so goes another Monday in the kitchen. While I may think like a Child, sometimes I cook like a child. Nothing a little butter can’t save!

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cooking, family life update, food, fun food, healthy outlook, kitchen, Metaphors, metastatic, nancy ferrato, survivor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Child is born

  1. JOHN FERRATO says:

    hmmm…this child might be stopping by taco bell! or not..

Leave a Reply

