Are There Two Kinds of People on Earth Today?

My dad used to recite a poem by Ella Wheeler Wilcox speaking of the two types of people on earth today…those who lift and those who lean.  While I don’t disagree, at all, I pose another idea.  There are two kinds of people on earth today, indeed.  There are those that look up and see the sky and its infinite possibilities.  There are those that look down and see the earth and its infinite treasures.

Those that look up…they squint into the sun.  They see the clouds that float by, and their imagination gets the best of them.  “Did you see that one?  It was Mufasa from Lion King!” They see the first buds of spring, because those are at the tops of the trees.  They are daydreamers.  Creative, interesting, inventive minds.  They want to ride to the moon.  See new life forms.  Free fallers.  Space is their final frontier.  They see shooting stars!

Those that look down…they see the new growth.  They are the first to see the crocus poke through the spring soil.  They don’t mind dirty hands or dirty shoes.  They don’t even mind the smell of wet dog, because that’s an earthy smell.  They are practical, logical.  Feet firmly planted.  They like to dig for gold…the bulb of the weed, the last hidden beet.  They marvel at the ant.

Yep, that’s my musings for today.  I’m a looker-downer who married a looker-upper.  Perhaps that ‘s always how it should be.  It has worked for us!  But, I do like to stare at the moon.  And dirty shoes sometimes tick me off.  So, like everything else, there’s a bit of both types in us, but we tend to lean in one direction, I think.

And now, here’s Ella….

There are two kinds of people on earth today,

Just two kinds of people, no more, I say,

Not the good and the bad, for ’tis well understood
The good are half bad and the bad are half good.

Not the happy and sad, for the swift-flying years
Brings each man his laughter and each man his tears.

Not the rich and the poor, for to count a man’s wealth
You must first know the state of his conscience and health.

Not the humble and proud, for in life’s busy span
He who puts on vain airs is not counted a man.

No! The two kinds of people on earth I mean
Are the people who lift and the people who lean.

Wherever you go you will find the world’s masses
Are ever divided in just two classes.

And, strangely enough, you will find, too, I ween,
There is only one lifter to twenty who lean.

In which class are you? Are you easing the load
Of overtaxed lifters who toil down the road?

Or are you a leaner who lets others bear
Your portion of worry and labor and care?”

― Ella Wheeler Wilcox

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer, metastatic, nancy ferrato, poetry, survivor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are There Two Kinds of People on Earth Today?

  1. Alex Ferrato says:

    I think i look up and down. I like to try to see everything. I think I am imaginative, and logical. Ant’s interest me just as much as extra-terrestrial life. I think there are endless possibilities on earth and in space. I honestly think the two people you are describing are the same. I think there are two kinds of people in this world, those who look, and those who keep their eyes shut.

Leave a Reply

