Turning Over a New Leaf

Ah, so it’s New Year’s Eve.  The last day for dietary debauchery before the new year begins.  I just read my January post from last year and the list of what I’d hoped to accomplish in 2012.  Some of those things got done.  Many did not.  Carpet still needs to be replaced.  Still have some pants from the ’90s!  But, I’m chugging along.  This year, my list is shorter.  This year, I pledge to turn over a new leaf.

Yes, I have mastered spinach and arugula.  Even KALE!  This year I vow to try mustard greens and collard greens.  A resolution I can absolutely accomplish…and then feel accomplished.  And perhaps even healthier.  For the past week, my bod has been filled with foods I rarely eat.  Meat.  Empty carbs.  I have felt heavy.  Sluggish.  Worn out.  I am not worn out by the holidays. I have had an easy season.  Each year seems to bring less holiday stress, and I’m sure grateful for that.  I feel worn out from lack of decent exercise and improper eating.  Not horrible eating.  Just not “right”.  So, tomorrow begins with Going Green.  Will you be joining me?

I also may attempt to sort the chaff and grain better this year.  My nutrition team believes I may have a gluten sensitivity.  Reviewing family history of type 2 diabetes tendencies, this could be true.  Ugh!  For years now, I have been told and believed that white rice and potatoes were evil, with corn being nearly as dastardly a villain.  Now, I have to retrain.  No more whole grain or whole wheat.  I have to rely on rice and potatoes and corn.  And quinoa flour…and maybe garbanzo bean flour (mostly cuz garbanzo is such a cool sounding word)…maybe almond flour (which is wickedly expensive).  I’ll need to actually look at those “gluten free” shelves.  Ugh again!  My challenge is to try this for three months and then have blood work done.  If my sugar numbers have vastly improved and my BUN numbers and AST…Blood Urea Nitrogen and a liver enzyme…then, rats, I have a gluten sensitivity.  Oh boy, I mentioned a liver enzyme and you saw red flags, didn’t you?  Well, my AST and ALT were both HIGH in 2008-09.  Now they are low.  As I see it, my liver is taking a much needed rest.  As a nutrionist sees it, I may have a gluten issue…or I may not be getting enough protein…or I may be overhydrated (obviously, unlikely).

So, off I go to buy a new “planner” calendar.  I will peruse 2012 before putting it on the shelves.  Ya, I save my planners.  Kinda like a diary.  “Which year did we go to Disney World over spring break?”  Hey, I can find that info…  I dunno, as you lightly ponder your death, it seems important to save the documents that showed you lived.  Anyhow, I’m off to get another one.

Yes, I am off to plan another year.  2012 saw my baby become a teen!  My oldest became a legal, drinking adult!  My first daughter got her driver’s license!  My marriage turned 25!  I put my toes in the sand, dragged my feet up the mountains of Wyoming, and strutted around parts of Europe.  It was a helluva year!  2013 will see my other son enter the decade of 20s, my oldest will graduate from college, my youngest will enter high school.  And me?  I’ll be eating rice noodles and adding collard greens to my soup!  I’m coasting…

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turning Over a New Leaf

  1. JOHN FERRATO says:

    SO FAR I ONLY SEE SAND IN 2013…I WANT TO KNOW WHERE ELSE YOU ARE GOING AND TAG ALONG!!!!!!!!

  2. Annmarie says:

    Loved the last two entries! Amen, on throwing Thanksgiving under the bus! I can’t stand that it has become the disposable holiday so we can rush headlong into Christmas leaving a trail of trampled people behind… So gross. Years ago I discovered buying online, and haven’t looked back! In my pj’s with a cup of coffee, no makeup, no lines, no crowds, free shipping! My Anthony had to work from 11pm to 8am at Kohl’s Thanksgiving night. Boo!

    I’ll join you on the green bandwagon! I fell off about a month ago when the wagon ran over a filet. I ran to catch up up, but I kept tripping over chicken legs and turkey sausage. Then, it was Thanksgiving, and well, a slice of pie will really slow you down, and the wagon just slipped away! So it’s back to the gym and walking in the hood! Let me know if you discover and great recipes and I’ll do the same! Until then, veggies and beans to you!

    Hugs,
    Annmarie

Leave a Reply

