To Keep Faith, Lose Religion?

I believe in God, the Father Almighty, creator of heaven and earth,

I believe in Jesus Christ, his only begotten son

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the Giver of Life

I believe that priests are fallible, and therefore so are some of their teachings

Even the Pope’s

I believe that people make mistakes and are forgiven, if they are really sorry

But, only if they are REALLY sorry

I believe that to be Christian means to follow the teachings of Jesus

In the New Testament.

I believe Jesus, like all humans, had flaws

But, like most humans, was mainly abundantly good

I believe that Jesus taught us to love everyone

Especially the unloveable, the difficult to love

I believe if you love someone, you show them respect

You give them the same rights you have

You do not kill them, nor do you deny them rights you have

You cannot be so absolutely against abortion and still defend capital punishment

Think about it

Jesus never said, “an eye for an eye”

Jesus said, “turn the other cheek”

What happens if you yell at a screaming child?

What happens if you hold that child tightly, lovingly, instead?

Capital punishment has not been shown to decrease crime

The church I belong to would be ok with me so far

But, the gay people I know….

My church says I should love them, but they cannot touch their partners

These gay people, I am no better or worse than them

I cannot pray that they change their ways

I cannot say that they shouldn’t have some of the same pleasures I have

I cannot say that they shouldn’t have some of the same legal rights

And, as for women, I cannot say they aren’t qualified to run a church

I cannot believe that God won’t speak through them, directing them

And the Protestants

I want to welcome them at the same communion table

I realize they don’t believe in transubstantiation

But, they believe what they believe

And, I am called to accept that and embrace it…

In my own house…

So, at my own church as well

Is my church really Christian?  Is any?

Do they teach us to welcome every kind of person, 

every kind of believer?

Do they teach us to fear the different?

To convert them?

Do we leave our churches better people each week…

Has God spoken to us?  Is He working through us?

If a church encourages you to isolate yourself from certain “undesirables”

Perhaps it’s time to stay home…

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Keep Faith, Lose Religion?

  1. Joy Pizzoferrato says:

    I love this post, Nancy. Thank you!

  2. yelodoggie says:

    Love you. Thank you for this post, which as you must know, really resonates with me. So many people just blindly follow what the church says when it comes to gay rights, and never put a face on the people they are rejecting. There are gay people in every walk of life; doctors, lawyers, teachers, actors, singers, dancers, construction workers, shop owners, writers, news anchors, truck drivers, stay-at-home parents, chefs – you come into contact with them every day. Many people have gay family members. But how many people think “If gay people can’t marry, the news caster I watch every day can’t marry.” “If gay people can’t adopt, my wonderful doctor can’t adopt.” “If gay people are excluded from the status of ‘family’ in hospitals, my cousin cannot be at the bedside of her partner of 28 years if she is dying.” If people would only put things into that context they would be compelled to do the ‘Christian’ thing.
    Remember what Jesus said about homosexuality: ” .”

  3. Annmarie says:

    Amen Nancy! And, I do stay at home now, and have never felt closer to God in my life! Jesus would have marched in Gay Pride Parades! His Father created all of us, and He does not make mistakes. I’m so sick of people hiding behind the Bible to hide their homophobia!

  4. YAPCaB says:

    I was not raised in a religious household, but several times I went to churches to see if there was a fit for me. It was a uniformly depressing experience for me. All of them were as political and shallow as the worst companies I’ve ever worked at. Some where so openly non-inclusive and “superior” to non-believers that it was disgusting – black, hispanic, gay, or poor and you weren’t welcome. A friend calls organized religion “spiritual country clubs”. I think there’s some truth to that.

Leave a Reply

