The Milky Way

“Sustaining controversy as a means of discrediting findings that cause economic or social discomfort is one of the greatest sins in science”

Read that again.  Again.  Do you get it?  It’s so true.  So simple.  A person, a special interest group, a union, a government, should not try to discredit reliable scientific findings because the results of the findings make us uncomfortable in some way.  Or because the findings do not necessarily make an aforementioned group more profitable.  Get it?  If not, email me.  I am screaming from the top of my bandwagon today.  I so wish you’d join me.  This issue pushes my buttons and may roll my car to Washington…or Wisconsin…some day.  What issue, you ask…”Milk, it does a body good”.  We’ve been duped…

So, rewind to 2008, I wouldn’t be surprised if I consumed more dairy than each of you.  Loved milk…in a glass, hot or cold, with cereal, with cookies, with PB&J.  Like Dr. Seuss, I would drink it “here or there,”  Yes, I would drink in anywhere!  Because it tasted good, because it had calcium, because it was a low cal source of protein, because cows were cute…I didn’t need a good reason, I slurped it up.  And, cheese  “Cheese marvelous cheese” so scrumptious.  Then, The News.  Breast cancer…stage 4, no cure just a lifetime of treatments.  And, by the way, your lifetime will be cut way back.  SCREAM!!!   PANIC!!!!   EDUCATE!!!  CHANGE!!!! in that exact order, of course.

After seeking the advice of a well regarded nutrionist (remember Doctors are lucky to have a course or two on the topic), I was taken off milk.  If she were me, this nutrionist would use cream for her coffee, period.  No milk.  No cheese.  But, why?

I’ve told y’all to quit it.  Don’t make your kids have milk with supper.  Give them water.  But, still, you resist.  Because I wasn’t giving you all the info you wanted.  Or perhaps you don’t want it.  I hope you’re not of the notion that ignorance is bliss.  Cuz, really, ignorance, when avoidable, is stupid.  Anyhow, I’ve taken some time and done some reading, and now I’ll share.  Now you’ll have the info and can choose accordingly.

“Americans consume more cow’s milk and its products per person than most populations in the world…American women aged fifty and older have one of the highest rates of hip fractures in the world” as stated in The China Study.   The body doesn’t like the acidic load that this animal protein places on it.  “In order to neutralize the acid, the body uses calcium, which acts as a very effective base….It ends up being pulled from the bones, and the calcium loss weakens them, putting them at greater risk for fracture.”  And, as you might guess, animal protein increases the metabolic acid load more than plant protein.  Dang, the stuff I was drinking to increase my calcium has actually been leeching calcium from my bones.  Just like coffee.  I’d rather have the coffee..

Basically, you must remember that your gorgeous bod is a machine.  To function at peak performance, it maintains a certain level of alkalinity.  It will do this on its own regardless of the fuel you provide.  As you may have guessed, though, it prefers that you don’t make it do the math.  Most of us don’t enjoy the math.  (I’m weird, I love it…but that’s just one of my ailments!)  So, if your food is more alkaline than acid, your body smiles.  What is alkaline?  Things you can eat raw, even if you cook them, for starters.  You got it, fruits and veggies.  Yes, even “acidic” fruits become alkaline in our bloodstream.  Moderately acidifying are whole grains and rice, both white and brown.  Very acidifying are all meats and dairy, whole wheat and white carbs.  Sadly, I must report that soy milk and almond milk are acidifying, too.  I cannot find info on coconut milk or hemp as far as acidity is concerned.  Clearly, we are going to eat acidic food.  Period.  We are and we know it.  The goal should be to greatly tip the scale in alkalinity’s favor.  Ex:  Stir fry a boat load of veggies with 1/2 a chicken breast and serve over 1/4 cup rice.  Better yet, skip the chicken.  It’s a process.  It takes practice.  But, consider the consequences.  Consider them every time you open your mouth!

Back to bovine breast milk.  Can I just say, “ew”.  Why is it so socially acceptable to drink the milk of another animal?  I suppose because it’s available.  But, even a baby cow doesn’t consume its mother’s milk for as long as we do.  Geez, we don’t consume our own mother’s milk as long as we’re willing to consume a cow’s milk.  I dunno, I never thought much about it BC (before cancer, of course), but now it just seems so weird to me.

There have been very valid tests done that have linked the early consumption of cow’s milk to both type 1 diabetes and MS.  It is a very complicated process, but basically, some people cannot break down the protein in milk and its fragments happen to look like pancreatic cells.   So, our immune systems attack these milk fragments and then go on to attack healthy pancreatic cells as well.  This impairs little pancreases and increases a person’s risk for type 1 diabetes.  Simple solution?  Feed infants human milk.  In MS, along with genetic links, which account for about 25% of disease incident, there is a correlation between saturated fat and the disease.  The saturated fat is from all animal protein.

It is estimated that about 75% of adults in the U.S. become lactose intolerant.  Apparently most of us are ill-equipped to handle milk sugar forever.

Cows milk contains a growth hormone, IGF-1 (insulin growth factor).  Sportsters may have heard of it as I have read that it helps shed fat and bulk muscle.  Well, for those of us with breast cancer, it is a danger.  Along with promoted cancer cell growth, it is even trickier.  It inhibits apotosis (cell death) even in cancer cells that have been exposed to chemotherapy.  Yikes!

Ok, we gotta eat stuff.  We can’t eat only broccoli and brussel sprouts.  But, we can make good, conscious choices.  And, when we are confronted with science that contradicts marketing, we can spread the word.   Sure, milk fills you up.  To many, it tastes good.  If you give up meat, it might not really harm you.  But, consider its source…

Purified water, it does a body good!

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Milky Way

  1. yelodoggie says:

    Where does this leave my spaghetti addiction, Cousin? Tomato sauce is acid, right? and pasta…white carbs? ARGH. Whole wheat pasta not necessarily better than semolina?

    I can live without the milk, as long as I don’t keep any oreos in the house…but ice cream…hmmmm. That would take some work.

  2. nancy5vic says:

    Well, tomatoes aren’t acidic raw, but I think they are cooked. Since you’ve asked, eat a bit less pasta…and eat whole grain, not whole wheat pasta…and have 2 sides of veggies. Yummy pasta on one plate, salad and another veggie of choice on another. So, eat your ice cream, but don’t sip the milk or sprinkle on the cheese. Compromise with yourself 🙂

  3. Annmarie says:

    Hi Sweetie!

    Very interesting! I knew that the actress from Taxi, Mary Lou Henner, was sounding off on milk on one of the talk shows one day, but I didn’t really pay attention. It looks like I should have! My boys drink skim milk, and we eat low fat cottage cheese, and use cheese on sandwiches. All three boys are on higher protein diets because they are trying to build muscle. How can I get enough protein in them if they are not big on veggies (or legumes) to begin with? I’m trying to up the broccoli, they won’t go near a brussels sprout unfortunately.

    You might like Mary Lou’s site, just google her and you’ll find it. She said that she cured her husband’s cancer through diet!

    Also, and don’t get mad at the messenger, there is an ad attached to this blog, it’s for Kraft Milk Bites. What are the odds!

    • nancy5vic says:

      Hi Annmarie,
      First, be sure your boys really need more protein. Here’s a good guideline…
      1. Weight in pounds divided by 2.2 = weight in kg
      2. Weight in kg x 0.8-1.8 gm/kg = protein gm.

      Use a lower number if you are in good health and are sedentary (i.e., 0.8). Use a higher number (between 1 and 1.8) if you are under stress, are pregnant, are recovering from an illness, or if you are involved in consistent and intense weight or endurance training.

      Example: 154 lb male who is a regular exerciser and lifts weights
      154 lbs/2.2 = 70kg
      70kg x 1.5 = 105 gm protein/day

      Ok, since you asked, I’d add a smoothie with whey protein. Yes, whey is a milk product, but it’s safe for some reason. You can look it up if you’re interested. I wouldn’t uses milk or yogurt, I’d use green tea or diluted juice as the liquid and frozen fruit or ice to thicken it and make it icy. You can now find free range chicken in most grocery stores. Remember, I’m not a nutritionist, but I think it makes sense to eat the flesh of a well cared for animal instead of the milk of a factory farm animal. Ok, maybe you buy organic milk. It still has natural hormones/sugars, etc that you and the boys just don’t need. Almond milk is pretty delicious and now available everywhere.
      Stay well, sweetie

  4. Karen Vicarel says:

    Hi Sis! Enjoyed your comments and I will drive to Washington with you:) Had my first vegetable drink yesterday while having lunch with Mom at Alladins. Some concoction of spinach and celery that was a particularly lousy looking color and didn’t taste much better AT FIRST. As I sipped it gingerly all the way home (no way can you GULP the stuff), the taste became more palatable. By the time the cup was empty, it occurred to me that veggie drinks are simply another acquired taste. If I took the time to acquire the taste for bone depleting coffee, and pound packing beer, I suppose it is worth the effort to acquire the taste for some healthy drinking, too! Brings to mind Kris Karr’s insight that we need to reframe our thinking regarding food: We aren’t giving up the “good stuff” when we begin to focus on whole foods. The foods we are to avoid were NEVER the “good stuff” (I concede they TASTE good–but, again, most tastes are acquired I think). They look pretty–the ice creams, cookies and cakes. They are packaged pretty–the candies, the
    breads, and the cheeses. They smell good–the meats and the poultries. But the REALLY GOOD STUFF is the food picked from the ground, the bushes, and the trees! Wish it were ALL good,
    but it just ain’t. Compromise is better than not changing at all 🙂 Does this all imply that we should start meeting at Roebecks instead of Starbucks? Nah!

  5. Pilar Munday says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Wow! I’m so impressed with your post! I’m also glad to see, from all the comments, that people are listening to your message. That’s just great! We have been a milk free house for a while now and, like you say, I now wonder why I never thought that it would be disgusting to drink another animal’s milk. Removing milk cured my husband from a mysterious pain he had in his knee. Now, sometimes he has pizza in school and bam! the pain in the knee is back.

    Thanks for being so brave and compelling!

Leave a Reply

