Just remember

I’d prefer you remember that each of you was loved and wanted before you were even born and not try to figure out who “my favorite” is.  (I love each of you immensely!)

I’d prefer you remember that I married the man who made me feel the best about myself and not remember that I kissed lips that weren’t yours ( Your lips always were the softest and the sweetest)

I prefer you remember the long summer days playing cards, the bike rides to play tennis, “camping out” together in the porch, endless hours “hopelessly devoted” to each other and not anytime I  may have ditched you, lied to you, or done some other teenage mean girl thing.  (and I’m sorry for all the off-key singing!)

I prefer you remember that I allowed you to spend half your summer days in the sandbox or the sprinkler and not that our kitchen linoleum got ruined.  (always wanted that wood floor anyway!)

I prefer you to remember that your friends were welcome in our house and not that I didn’t spend enough time teaching you how to “keep up a house”.  (all the cleaning ladies in the world will rejoice that you need them so badly!)

I prefer you remember that I love to travel and not feel like I was unhappy at home.

I prefer that you understand that my relationships with all sorts of people were always more important than decorating/cleaning the  house.

I prefer that you understand that I just want to cuddle and spoil those little mutts and not that I had to drop out of obedience class because I was “too soft”.

I prefer you remember that I love to bake from scratch rather than use a boxed mix, that I’d rather cook a yummy meal without anything coming from a package, and not that I often left the dishes until the next morning.

I’d prefer you remember that I really care what you have to say and not that I asked you the same question three times in an hour.  (oops, a good song must have come on the radio!)

I’d prefer you remember that I’m a woman full of faith and hope and not that I sometimes miss mass or disagree with the Catholic church’s teachings.

Mostly, I’d prefer you just remember….

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer, healthy outlook, metastatic, nancy ferrato, survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just remember

  1. Ken Vicarel says:

    Really an outstanding piece. Poetic, even.

    However, just so you know that I know that you know that I know, this is big-time camo. for not cleaning your house.

    Well disguised, though . . .

    And, by the way, NONE of us will be much remembered for long as we aren’t Einstein’s or that guy that invented gravity—Newton, I think, was his name and he musta made a fortune cuz I’ve never been anywhere that hasn’t had gravity—or a president or whatever but, per Chaos Theory, each of us absolutely influences the whole bloody world, for good or ill, and the affects of that endure forever. Incalculably, for sure, but no less factual.

    These postings of yours are truly inspirational.

    But you’re not gettin’ the housecleaning thing past me—just so ya know. Bro. Ken

  2. nancy5vic says:

    You got me! Just trying to justify the layer of dust all around me…

  3. Laura Hanichak Gregg says:

    It just took me to ‘Hopelessly Devoted’ before I figured out you were talking to ME!!! Good times, good memories. And my kids tell me I shouldn’t sing out loud!!! Is it surprising that Anna Rosemary’s favorite movie of all time is Grease? I didn’t introduce it to her…too sophisticated in my mind, but someone else did and she knows every song by heart!! Till the day I die Nancy, I’ll remember you till then and my kids will remember the stories I tell them long after:) Now…go clean that house of yours!

Leave a Reply

