The right word

So, I have written too much lately.  Welllllll….my head is still full of words, snipets, fun facts, but I’ve been the proverbial “too busy”.  Which means I haven’t needed therapy!  That’s a good sign.  But, ultimately, I do like to write, or type as the case may be.  It has been  brought to my attention that some of you may need some holiday mental break!  So, grab your green tea…

I have found my word.  I have read many an obituary that says so-and-so “lost her battle with cancer”.  I have told my family that I will forever haunt them if they dare to say that I lost a battle.  I am not a loser.  Period.  I also do not like to battle.  I like to eat chocolate.  I like to linger over a good meal.  Geez, I like to linger over a Panera’s meal!  I am a dawdler, not an ax-weilding warrior.  Ok, enough.  My word…again, it comes from Kris Carr…her Crazy, Sexy Diet book this time.  I am NOT battling cancer (remember, I’m LIVING with it, chronically).  I am on a wellness ADVENTURE.  The biggest adventure of my life.   Ahhh…for days I will be basking in this…I was stuck on not being able to find the right description.  I told you I was on a quest for knowledge, that there was a fork in my road, but I was going to make it a tasty one.  But, I like this.  I am on an adventure.  Oh God, I love adventures.  Which leads me to….

I am a princess.  It’s really kind of embarrassing.  John works so hard…so many hours.   And, I am the princess.  In October, I got to meet Kris Carr.  I also had the opportunity, along with ol’ friend Jeff Glidden to see Chrissy Hind, JP and the Fairground Boys perform in a condo in downtown Akron right over her restaurant Vegiterranean.  I was about 5 feet from Chrissy Hind…one of my very favorite rocker chicks!  They recorded 3 or 4 songs, and that was that.  But, it was very cool!  Then, John and I dashed off to Charleston, SC for Halloween weekend.  Very quaint downtown.  We had a nice, relaxing time there.  And it was warm!  The following weekend we attended Scott Hamilton’s Ice Skating Show which is a fund raiser for Cleveland Clinic’s Cancer Center where Scott was treated.  The show is really spectacular.  This time it was even more enjoyable because we were able to take some neighbors with us.  That night, thanks to John’s ambition, I met Sheryl Crow.  Then, the next weekend, John and I flew to Miami to celebrate our anniversary.  While there, we saw the Heat play the Celtics.  It was an outstanding game made more outstanding by the Celtics win.  We also walked the beach and ate at some interesting places…some not so interesting, too.  All in all, South Beach was way nicer than I expected.  Very international.  Fairly clean.  Fun.  And it was warm!  So, now that we are home for a spell, it is holiday season!!!!  The shopping, the wrapping, the baking, the decorating.  It’s all good, isn’t it???  And when we finish getting ready, we are all leaving for Jamaica…kids, too.  We’ll be back just in time to enjoy Christmas and New Years with extended family.

Back to my wellness adventure now.  I have read a good article out of Canada on the latest soy research, which even this article admitted was likely to keep evolving.  Many of you have voiced concern or at least curiosity on why I would choose to ingest soy, a plant based estrogen.  Well, according to Canada, a postmenopausal breast cancer chick with estrogen AND progesterone positive cancer (aka moi) will benefit from soy consumption.  The rate of recurrence while consuming soy each day is dropped by at least 30%.  Ya, I’m in a constant state of cancer vs worrying about recurrence.  Or am I?  No one can really say for sure what’s happening when a PET is clean, right?  So, I am choosing to feel cancer free for now even while knowing a recurrence is in my future.  Ok, I’m not really doing a good job of feeling cancer free, but I’m trying.  And if lots of things I do are known to reduce the rate of recurrence perhaps they will help me lengthen the time before a recurrence.  Intuitively makes sense.  Hmm…hope cancer is intuitive.

Caffeine.  I love it.  Makes me jitter.  Love that feeling.  A pure rush.   It’s highly acidic.  Thought I didn’t care, it would be my one vice.  Maybe now I care.  I want to eat some sugar.  Not a bucket full, but some.  I want to drink red wine.  Not the bottle, but a glass.  So maybe I need to clean up the coffee pot.  hmmph.  I am waiting until after Christmas.  Then, stay tuned to my Decaffeination Adventure.  I have given up coffee for Lent and it wasn’t pretty.  In fact, I started drinking it again for the sake of my children.  I didn’t want to hurt them and I was one irritable chick!  But, if I first decaf myself, then slowly give it up altogether, maybe it’ll be easier.

Adventure.  Perfect.

ad·ven·ture

http://sp.dictionary.com/dictstatic/d/g/speaker.swf [ad-ven-cher]  Show IPAnoun, verb, -tured, -tur·ing.

–noun 

1   an exciting or very unusual experience.
2.  participation in exciting undertakings or enterprises: the spirit of adventure.
3.  a bold, usually risky undertaking; hazardous action of uncertain outcome.

I love it!  Let’s all just enjoy our adventures!
About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

