Put away the toolbox

Here I sit on this AMAZING Autumn day…on my screened in porch, sipping green tea (Organic & Pure decaf green tea with lemon grass…delish!), and typing whilst my dog begs for attention.  I am still  trying to figure out how to make my blog pretty and informative and fun in general to visit.  So, I am visiting other bloggy people.  One of my favorite women today is Kris Carr as I’ve mentioned before.  She has a website http://www.crazysexylife.com which usually makes me laugh or teaches me something.  I love to both laugh and learn, so I visit this site on occasion.  Today I watched a few of her videos.  One struck me…hard!

I love control.  I like to know when the kids are getting up, coming home, need a ride, whatever…in advance, please.  I dictate when the clothes are washed, and when new outfits are purchased.  I decide what’s for dinner.   I chose my car, and the one my kids drive.  I plan vacations.  I make dinner reservations.  I enjoy controlling my destiny.  Perhaps you are this way, also.  Well, when it comes to health and wellness, a curve or two may be thrown our way.  I have sought “control comfort” by becoming informed about what I could do beyond showing up to doc appts. to enhance my wellness.  I am resting on my laurels for a bit.  I would like to learn about other things, too.  Like how to compost food waste without stinking up my neighborhood.

Over the past week, I have mentioned to John my need to “not be fixed” by my loved ones.  This is a delicate topic.  Again, there’s this control monster.  When someone else tells you how to feel or react, it puts your guard up.  You know full well they mean well.  Doesn’t matter.  Guard up.  So, I saw this video by Kris, and she says it all so perfectly.  I am going to try really hard to remember this when dealing with my kids.  Maybe we should all put away the toolbox and clean out our earwax.  Let’s all just let each other know that some stuff just sucks and that’s okay, it just sucks.

I’m going to work on being more impulsive and less impatient.  I am going to enjoy every sip of my tea.  On Monday, I am going to be radioactive.  Jealous?  When you have a moment, enjoy Kris.  She’s very good at what she does…

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in family life update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

