I need another PET

Hello yet again,

Got the call this morning from Doc Siegel’s office requesting that I get another scan.  A PET one this time.  For those of you out of the med jargon loop, a PET scan is done to see where in your entire body you have cancer.  Perhaps it’s used for other things as well, not sure.  So, I’m scheduled for this on Monday at 1pm.

I find this part interesting…over the weekend I am to eat a low carb diet.  Shoot, I got the wrong memo…I’ve been doing that for two years, not two days.  All those lost pasta opportunities!  Then, I must fast 6 hours before the test.  Ok, fine, fine…what’s the point… Then, I will be injected with a radioactive dye.  While I won’t glow in the dark, my tumors will.  This dye contains…guess…guess, c’mon—–sugar!  Because, why?  Because SUGAR FEEDS CANCER!  Basically, I need to let my cancer lay low over the weekend, get it good and hungry, so that when I’m injected with that sugar dye, the tumors go crazy and light up the PET scan screen.

Finally, this test will be the definitive answer to what’s still living on my liver other than liver cells.  Wonder why I had that MRI, don’t you?  Perhaps it’s not so good to be radioactive if they can differentiate the tissue without doing this.  Dunno.  Anyhow, I’ll let you know around the middle of next week where they dwell and how many tumors I’m still harboring.

Tonight is home made chicken pot pie.  A favorite among the Ferrato kids!  I will only get a very thin sliver of that yumminess.  I will feast on an arugula salad with apples and almonds and a baked sweet potato along with a nice, warm and aromatic green tea.  Do you have more than two colors on your plate tonight????

Stay well.  Brush your teeth and say your prayers.

love,

Nancy

 

 

About nancy5vic

40-something year old cancer goddess (hah...make that 50-something now!!) raising four children and one husband. Diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2008. Love to travel, cook, bake and spend time with my kids and friends. My perfect day always starts with breakfast out...especially fantastic if I'm with John.
This entry was posted in health update. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need another PET

  1. Annmarie Keogh says:

    As always, sending prayers beautiful lady!

    Hugs,

    Annmarie

Leave a Reply

